Akshardham Temple, New Delhi

Akshardham temple was officially opened on 6 November 2005 and attracts approximately 70 percent of all tourists who visit Delhi.

Virupaksha Temple - Hampi, Karnataka

Virupaksha Temple is located in Hampi and is part of the Group of Monuments at Hampi, designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Dhauli Hill - Bhubaneswa, Orissa

Dhauli hill also famous for the Kalinga war that is famous for the transformation of Ashoka, into Buddhism. It is said that after Ashoka's army killed 150000 people in a battle, he renounced the path of lord Buddha.

Kailasanath Temple - Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu

The Kailasanath temple is the oldest temple dedicated to Lord Siva and known for its historical presence. It was built by the Pallavas in the early 8th century CE. It is famous for its splendid vimana.

Dilwara Temples, Mount Abu -Rajasthan

These temples built by Chalukya between the 11th and 13th centuries AD are world famous for their stunning use of marble.

Golden Temple - Amritsar, Panjab

In the early nineteenth century, Maharaja Ranjit Singh cov.ered the upper floors of the gurdwara with gold, which gives it its distinctive appearance and English name of "Golden Temple"

Bhoganandishwara Temple - Nandi Hills, Banglore

A 9th century Chola Temple at Nandigram, 70 km from Bangalore. This temple was developed by Cholas, Pallavas and the Vijayanagar Rulers in different time periods.

Saturday, 6 December 2014

Rajgir - Gaya, Bihar

The city of Rajgir was the first capital of the kingdom of Magadha, a state that would eventually evolve into the #Mauryan Empire. This area also notable in Buddhism and Jainism as one of the favorite places for Mahavira and Gautama Buddha.

Kaal Bhairav Temple, Madhya Pradesh

Around 8 kms away from Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh, the Temple of Kaal Bhairav is located.

The offerings to the God here is only alcohol. The bowl full of alcohol when touched to the mouth of God, within few seconds the liquor disappears. The mystery of how this stone statue is able to drink the alcohol have always baffled Indians who have visited this place.

So far no scientific explanation could have been given keeping the riddle unsolved.

Saturday, 28 June 2014

Howrah Bridge - Kolkata

The Howrah Bridge is a cantilever bridge with a suspended span over the Hooghly River in West Bengal, India. Commissioned in 1943, the bridge was originally named the New Howrah Bridge, because it replaced a pontoon bridge at the same location linking the two cities of Howrah and Kolkata (Calcutta). On 14 June 1965 it was renamed Rabindra Setu, after the great Bengali poet Rabindranath Tagore, who was the first Indian and Asian Nobel laureate. It is still popularly known as the Howrah Bridge.

The bridge is one of four on the Hooghly River and is a famous symbol of Kolkata and West Bengal.

Photo Credit : Harsh Chaudhary

Monday, 23 June 2014

Shri Kopeshwar temple , Khidrapur Maharashtra.

Shri Kopeshwar temple , Khidrapur Maharashtra.

Photo Credit- Pratap Barge Inamdar

Sunday, 22 June 2014

Shikanath Temple

Shikanath temple which is basically a cave temple was believed to have been built by early Pallava King.

Photo Credit - Thomas Alexander via Facebook

Monday, 12 May 2014

Kempty Fall - Masuri, Dehradun (Uttrakhand)

Kempty Fall - Masuri, Dehradun (Uttrakhand)

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More